Featured Artist: Apache’s Wife

Standard

Today’s featured artist, Britnee Dockins, creates her gorgeous Apache-inspired designs in her hometown of Dallas, TX.  We hope you check out her store ApachesWife on Etsy and get to know her a little better here with Promo Junkies.  Here is our interview with Britnee:

How did you get started on Etsy?

Very quickly. Too quickly probably! I would give my jewelry to my mother in law to sell at her work. When I moved away from my hometown I had a surplus of jewelry and no where for it to go. 

What is your inspiration for your shop?

My lovely apache husband and little indian boy.

What is your favorite item from your own shop and why?

Image

This guy. It started out a simple webbed dream catcher and hung in my room for weeks. I couldn’t figure out how to finish it. Then in a crafting frenzy it hit me, and this beauty was the result. 

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

It’s rare that I’m not doing some sort of creating, but when I’m not I take a bath. A quiet, peaceful, bubbly bath.

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Fantasticum
https://www.etsy.com/shop/RusticBabyBoutique
https://www.etsy.com/shop/ConversationGlass

How would you describe your work style?

Chaotic. I’ve got beads in the kitchen, string in the garage, ribbon in the bathroom. It works for me though. I am not an overly organized person.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

Multi arms like Doc Oc! Just kidding that’s not a power. Probably super speed because there’s never enough hours in the day.

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your store?

I wouldn’t have wasted so much time comparing myself to the more experienced shops. Etsy takes time to learn all the ins and outs. You’ll never be that shop that has 600 views and 5 sales a day in the first little bit. Give it time, you’ll learn your way!

Thank you Britnee for giving us a behind-the-scenes peek into how you operate and what inspires you!  To our readers, if you know someone that should be featured here at Promo Junkies, please email us at promojunkiesetsy@gmail.com with a short description of who they are, where they operate, and what makes them something to brag about.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

