Featured Artist: Precious Bowtique

Standard

Today’s featured artist is Brittany C of Precious Bowtique.  Working out of Corvallis, OR, Brittany makes all sorts of knit and crochet items for everyone from baby to adult, even dolls.  Read more about the person behind the art right here with Promo Junkies.

How’d you get started on Etsy?

I opened an Etsy shop in 2009, right after I graduated from high school, thinking I’d make my fame and fortune selling hair bows, little did I know that the hair bow market is extremely saturated on Etsy and I didn’t sell a thing. I closed up shop within two months. In the mean time I honed my knitting and crocheting skills and opened shop again in February of 2011 with a new focus for my shop.

What was your inspiration for your shop?

I just love crafting! I love making things and seeing the finished product. I love the look on someones face when they receive a handmade item, and that’s what really was the driving force behind my Etsy shop.

What’s your favorite shop item from your own shop and why?

Everything in my shop is one of a kind, I rarely make the same thing twice. Most of the knitted doll clothes are made by my grandma who is helping me raise money for my wedding, all of those items are one of a kind as well. My current favorite is:

dollsweater

I think this set is absolutely adorable!!

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

I love spending time with my fiance and 2 cats (Ginger and Lilah), but really, crafting is the main way that I unwind! 🙂

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.

Hmmm this is a tough one! I’ll go with:
www.symbolicimports.etsy.com
www.sewinggranny.etsy.com
www.verosjoy.etsy.com
All 3 are wonderful people and have beautiful items in there shop that I drool over constantly!

How would you describe your work style?

Really relaxed, I make things when I feel like making things and I make what tickles my fancy at the time. When it comes to custom orders I am a power house. I give a 1-2 week period to get an item done but I tend to finish it within 2 days.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

The power to read minds! I would love to know what people think when they look at my items and what would make them like them even more!

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your store?

I would work more on photography (which I still struggle with), I would learn more about the benefits of promotion, and I would be PATIENT!

Check out some of Precious Bowtique’s other great items:
doll2doll3doll4

More places to find Precious Bowtique:
www.twitter.com/preciousbowetsy
www.pinterest.com/preciousbowetsy
www.facebook.com/preciousbowtiqueetsy
www.preciousbowtique.etsy.com
www.wanelo.com/Brittany6

Thank you Brittany for giving us a behind-the-scenes peek into how you operate and what inspires you!  To our readers, if you know someone that should be featured here at Promo Junkies, please email us at promojunkiesetsy@gmail.com with a short description of who they are, where they operate, and what makes them something to brag about.

Leave a Reply

