Featured Artist: Frippery Frocks

Standard

Jenn Simmons of Frippery Frocks from Cleveland, OH is our featured artist today.  Jenn focuses her talents on vintage and homemade items that can be found in her Etsy store, FripperyFrocks.  Let’s get to know Jenn a little more.

How did you get started on Etsy?

My studio apprentice in 2008 was selling some things on Etsy. I’d never heard of it at the time and checked it out. I ended up making my profile, and didn’t do much else until a year ago when I set up a shop to sell some of my crochet projects. I didn’t sell anything (I had 2 items, and didn’t do any promoting whatsoever-). Over the summer I started learning more about how to network on Etsy with the teams and making treasuries. Just by making 3 treasuries a week (or more) I’ve risen to 300 followers and I don’t need to pay to promote my shop. For now, my shop is just vintage and some outfits I sewed, but I may add photographs or other craft items in the future.

What was your inspiration for your shop?

My photography- my husband and I have been working as a creative team together since 2006 creating artistic photos with models. We tell stories with our photos, and storytelling requires costumes and props. I’ve been collecting all kinds of vintage clothes, and creating other costumes myself. The space we have in the studio has gotten quite full, and I am now starting the process of cleaning out the excess. I sell the vintage items here, and the newer clothing on eBay.

What’s your favorite shop item from your own shop and why?

This dress is my absolute favorite-
black dress1

I never actually got to photograph it. I bought it at a flea market a few years back without anything in mind to use it for, and its been hanging on a hanger in the studio wardrobe closet. I didn’t realize quite how cool it looked on until I dressed the mannequin to sell it in my shop. I may have to squeeze in a quick photo shoot with it if it doesn’t sell in the next couple of weeks. 

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

Being a full time mom to 3 boys, and part time commercial photographer, I actually unwind by being creative. I like to sew, crochet, and paint. 

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.

I have 57 pages of favorite shops… but I’ll try to narrow it down… 

My favorite artist shop is Emily Balivet at www.etsy.com/shop/EmilyBalivet

My favorite jewelery site is– www.etsy.com/shop/SeasonsDesignJewelry

And my favorite clothing shop is– www.etsy.com/shop/idea2lifestyle

…oh, I so need more than 3 favorites… Browse through my favorite shops here:
www.etsy.com/people/BlackWatchJen/favorites?type=shops&ref=col_view

How would you describe your work style?

Attention deficit.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

I would like to never have to sleep so I could accomplish more things and have more free time for the things I want to do rather than the things I have to do…

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your store?

the power of getting involved on Etsy, creating treasuries, participating in teams, it all promotes your shop. If I had done this when I had my crochet items for sale, I probably would have sold them. ;o)

Check out more of Frippery Frocks’ great items:

FF1

More places to find Jenn:
Commercial: www.jennsimmonsphoto.com
Artistic: www.blackwatchart.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/FripperyFrocks#
Twitter: twitter.com/BlackWatchJenn
Blog: jennsimmonsphoto.blogspot.com
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/sweetartistjen/boards/

Thank you Jenn for sharing your inspirations and process with us today.  To our readers, if you know someone that should be featured here at Promo Junkies, please email us at promojunkiesetsy@gmail.com with a short description of who they are, where they operate, and what makes them something to brag about.

One response »

Leave a Reply

