Featured Artist: Heart Smile Farms

Standard

Introducing Tina C. from Heart Smile Farms in Sweet Home, OR.  (Doesn’t that just sound like the happiest place on Earth?!?)  Tina and her husband are collectors of vintage housewares that can be purchased in their Etsy store, HeartSmileFarms.  Read more about their beginnings and inspirations here.

How did you get started on Etsy?
We got married in our barn and had been collecting vintage china for the table settings. I soon become overrun with vintage serving pieces and decided to make them available to others. And the shop just grew from that.

What is your inspiration for your shop? 
The name HeartSmile is the name of our Farm which came from a comment I made to my husband one day when I said, you make my heart smile. It kinda stuck. 🙂

What is your favorite item from your own shop and why?
kitchen

Oh – so hard to say – but it has to be The Kitchen Magician! I was sitting on the floor of the thrift store when I found it (loving the name) and my husband came around the corner and said “Whatcha got there little lady?” I said, “Well I got me a Kitchen Magician!” and this lady in the aisle started laughing and said we sounded like a fun couple. And it was perfect that this item was my goal sale of #100! It seems like kismet.

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I’m kind of weird – but I like to clean.

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops:

Oh without a doubt, MillStreetVintage – sigh – the clothes are to die for
Mimsytoo- Such a sweet lady.
FooleryToo – my best friend’s shop

How would you describe your work style?
Frenetic! I get all wound up and don’t stop until it is done. I’ve gone 10 hours without eating or drinking and look up and its bed time.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?
Time travel – aren’t there things you wish you could go back and change? Things we’ve said in the heat of the moment and wish we could take back? Men we married and wish we didn’t ….ahem…

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your shop?
SEO. Holy cripes no matter what you read and how many times you’ve done it, it just takes time to learn the system and make it work for you.

Please list where you can be found (FB, Twitter, etc)
Right now, here and Pinterest. I’m still trying to set up a FB account and I don’t understand Twitter! And when things slow down on the farm, I will start a blog.

Thank you Tina for sharing your background and future plans with us today!  To our readers, if you know someone that should be featured here at Promo Junkies, please email us at promojunkiesetsy@gmail.com with a short description of who they are, where they operate, and what makes them something to brag about.

Leave a Reply

