Featured Artist: What’s In Grama’s Drawers

Standard

Meet Colleen Weikel of Lancaster, PA.  You find lots of fun jewelry in her Etsy shop whatsingramasdrawers but first read more about her here on Promo Junkies of Etsy:

How did you get started on Etsy?

I got started on Etsy when I retired from work. I had done craft shows for many years and wanted to open an Etsy shop in order to slow down my craft show schedule. Turns out we opened 2 Etsy shops.

What is your inspiration for your shop?

Color and nature inspire me. I try to use my love of color and design in my jewelry. Every bead is in some way connected to nature as is color.

What is your favorite item from your own shop and why?

My favorite piece right now, and this changes often, is my crocheted choker necklace. I think i love it because I love to crochet and I love the look of beads with the thread.

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

When I’m not creating I read and I write. For me reading is a vacation from everything. And writing is fun because I can use my imagination in different ways. My writing tends to be funny, so I have a great time with it.

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.

Three of my favorite Etsy shops are: Sassy Belle Wares – I love her bracelets. Stamp Blanks – a great shop for anyone who wants to make personalized jewelry. And Black Magic Studio – I love vintage things.

How would you describe your work style?

I guess my work style is eclectic. I like so many different styles that I have to try everything I see. That’s why I have so many beads.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

I never thought about a super power, but if I had to choose, I would have to say I’d like to be able to fly. Cars and traffic drive me crazy and I don’t like long rides, so flying would be perfect.

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your shop?

If I knew how bad my old camera was I would have bought a new camera before I took almost 400 pictures because I had to take them all again. The new camera is a huge improvement.

Please list where you can be found

I’m on Twitter at: @cullyann and Facebook at:www.facebook.com/pages/Whats-in-Gramas-Drawers/404675732885082 and Pinterest at:www.facebook.com/pages/Whats-in-Gramas-Drawers/404675732885082

Leave a Reply

