Featured Artist: HeyViv

Standard
We recently did an interview with HeyViv. She is an awesome lady who has this amazing vintage shop with epic vintage finds! We asked the questions, and here are her answers!
1. How did you get started on Etsy?
I started selling vintage clothing at flea markets around New York City, and in 1986 I got my own little store called “Hey Viv ! Vintage Clothing” in Staten Island. I loved the business and the people (and the clothes!) In the 90’s I branched out onto the internet, which grew and grew until I finally took the whole kit and caboodle online in 2000. But I missed the camaraderie of the store until I found Etsy. Here’s a community of nice people who like to chat and who appreciate vintage. Ahhh, I felt like I was home again.
2. What is your inspiration for your shop?
I look for colorful clothing that I would like to wear and items that can stand up to everyday use. I like to collect vintage but I like to wear it too.
3. What is your favorite item from your own shop and why?
My favorite item is always what I just photographed and put in the store. But if I picked right now, I’d say my favorite is this colorful 1970’s Tropical Garden Graphic Print Day Dress.  It has lush flowers and an easy to wear style that I always look for. I want to slip it on, pop a hat on my head and go for a walk in the park.
 il_570xN.519985376_6sv4
4. How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I do performance art. My pieces always involve audience participation and fabulous costumes. I love to make an entrance!
5. List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.
Jackie O’Sassness Attic
 
Rust Belt Threads:
 
Arcanium Antiques:
 
6. How would you describe your work style?
Organized and detailed with a smattering of science fiction and odd movie quotes “Surely you can’t be serious?! I am serious…and don’t call me Shirley”
7. If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?
Time travel. I could get so much done and go clothes shopping in any era.
il_570xN.576574827_ccuh
8. If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your shop?
 
I would definitely advise my younger self to be more careful with money and have a budget. It’s easy to spend money on stock without a plan in mind. Yes, I’ll sell it one day, but in the meantime it’s in storage until I can list it. I would also have taken a photography class to learn how to use my camera.  It took a long time to learn to take good pictures, and I could have shortened the learning curve. 

 You can find HeyViv on Etsy and Facebook

One response »

Leave a Reply

