Featured Artist: Haruaki

Standard

Here is Tiffany Key from Fernandina Beach, FL.  She creates original modern resin jewelry in her Etsy shop Haruaki.  Read more about her here on Promo Junkies of Etsy.

How did you get started on Etsy?

I first started with a handmade baby clothes and Japanese fabric shop called Gu Choki Pa. I decided to take a break from textiles and try out a medium my artist husband was working with: resin. Looking at some of his translucent creations, I immediately thought of jewelry.

What is your inspiration for your shop?

The way the light shines in the afternoon through the trees, tidal pools at the beach, hummingbirds, my children’s drawings and enthusiasm for insects, antifreeze drying on pavement. The mundane beauty that goes unnoticed unless you are really paying attention.

What is your favorite item from your own shop and why? 

Merlot Red Umi Ring, Faceted Resin

I really love the Umi ring.  My own style is rather simple so I like a ring that can be worn while working and going about everyday tasks like washing dishes and digging in the garden. It is unobtrusive but when you look at it closely, it is like looking someone straight in the eye.

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

I am busy all the time. Besides for making jewelry, I also write, homeschool my kids, teach English as a second language, and work on my vegetable garden. Finding pockets of time to unwind is not easy but when I do, you can usually find me drinking a beer by a bonfire, floating on the waves at the beach, taking my dog for a walk, or reading a book of short stories under my favorite oak tree.

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops. 

Just three?
1. www.etsy.com/shop/byloumi
2. www.etsy.com/shop/theaterclouds
3. www.etsy.com/shop/TamarShalem

How would you describe your work style?

I am thorough and persistent now but it has taken a lot of missteps to arrive here.

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

Time travel. I would like to be in more than one place at the same time. I would also appreciate some more time to learn how to do something well (think Bill Murray in Groundhog Day- though not a time traveler per se).

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your shop? 

Save my money and buy all the supplies I needed first. I would invest a lot in the beginning instead of doing everything piecemeal.

Please list where you can be found (FB, Twitter, etc)

FB: www.facebook.com/pages/HARU-AKI-Jewelry/406783062741066 

Twitter: @HaruAki_Jewelry

Leave a Reply

