Featured Artist: Eclectic Illustrator

Standard

Meet Amalia from Eclectic Illustrator on Etsy.  Get inspired by her gorgeous original art pieces and read more about her process right here on Promo Junkies of Etsy.

How did you get started on Etsy? 
I had been out of college for about 3 years when we opened the store. Several friends had already encouraged me to open an Etsy shop as I was struggling to find a full-time job in my field (illustration/graphic design). I always put it off because we only talked about it when I was working as a contractor for a company. After my last design job wrapped up, my mom came to me one day and said, “Let’s try it!” Now, we’re the dynamic duo, trying to get my artwork out into the world! 🙂 It’s been a blast so far and I can’t wait to see what happens next! 

What is your inspiration for your shop? 
Everything! That sounds cliche perhaps, but it is true. I love to travel and I am inspired by the designs, colors, patterns, textures and perspectives of other cultures’ aesthetics. Photography has always played a huge role in my life, and sometimes I find ideas for my paintings through my photographer’s eye. I am interested in typography and language and constantly discover new inspiration in book! The people around me in my life provide new insight into the world. I love to try random art forms and see what happens: scribble art, finding shapes in the clouds, etc. You never know what inspiration you’ll find in the cracks in the sidewalk or the texture of a paint palette. 

What is your favorite item from your own shop and why? 
This might be the most difficult question to answer as my favorite constantly changes. Every piece of art that I work on is special to me and is attached to specific experiences and memories of crafting that design. At the moment, I think I would have to say that my favorite piece is my “You Ampersand Me” print. I painted that watercolor very recently and it was a joy for me from sketch to scan. Part of the fun was combining my love of watercolors with my love of typography and letter shapes. If you ask me this question again in a week or two, though, I’ll probably have a new favorite because I enjoy all my pieces in their own, unique ways. 🙂 

How do you unwind when you’re not creating? 
Spending time with my family and friends is priority in my life. Sometimes I even incorporate them into my creative time! I absolutely love to read and that occupies lot of my free time. I travel wherever and whenever I can, whether’s it’s just to the beach or across the world. Whenever I am able to, I volunteer at my church and help out in my church community, especially if there is any sort of artistic need. Photography, watching movies, dancing, singing, and building the occasional tent fort can also be ways for me to unwind. 

List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops. 
One of my closest friends in college (also an illustrator) just opened her shop. It’s fantastic!
www.etsy.com/shop/MortarAndMill

I also love the chopsticks from PetiteThrela – she’s the only one I know who has black current lip products! 
www.etsy.com/shop/PetiteThrela

And finally, the woodland Christmas ornaments at Graphic Spaces are just too adorable! They are on my tree every year, and that’s why this is one of my favorite Etsy shops:
www.etsy.com/shop/graphicspaceswood

How would you describe your work style? 
My style is right there in my name: eclectic! In college, I was able to try loads of new and different art mediums. I loved trying something I hadn’t done before and experimenting with it. That said, I also want to learn more about what I’ve already done and refine old skill sets. The pursuit of expertise and artistic strength keeps me centered on a few artistic techniques, but my curiosity to explore new concepts and mediums push me to experiment as well. This makes my artwork very eclectic both in subject matter and style, but it is also unified in that it is very much me and my personal style. 🙂

If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why? 
To paint with all the colors of the wind.

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do differently in opening your shop? 
I wouldn’t have waited so long to open The Eclectic Illustrator! Even though it would have been more challenging to start the store while I was working as a contractor at other companies, I realize now that it would not have been impossible. It would be interesting to know where we would have been by now if we had opened 4 years ago instead of only last year. 🙂

Please list where you can be found (FB, Twitter, etc):
www.TheEclecticIllustrator.com
www.facebook.com/TheEclecticIllustrator
instagram.com/theeclecticillustrator
www.pinterest.com/amaliarh/the-eclectic-illustrator/

Leave a Reply

